Three Badgers named First-Team All-Big Ten

MADISON, Wis. – Three Badger football players – offensive tackle Joe Thomas, running back P.J. Hill and defensive back Jack Ikegwuonu – were named first-team All-Big Ten, the conference announced on Tuesday.
Hill, the Big Ten leader in rushing, all-purpose yards and scoring, was the consensus choice as Big Ten Freshman of the Year. He was a first-team all-league selection by the media and second-team pick of the coaches. Thomas, destined to be a first-team All-American for the second consecutive year, was a consensus first-team all-conference pick for the second straight season. Ikegwuonu, tied for second in the Big Ten with 13 passes defended, was a first-team choice of the coaches and second-team selection by the media.
Defensive back Roderick Rogers was a consensus second-team all-conference selection, as was placekicker Taylor Mehlhaff and defensive end Matt Shaughnessy. Travis Beckum, the nation's leading receiver among tight ends, was a second-team selection of the media and an honorable mention pick by the coaches.

Article Continues Below
Nine other Badgers earned honorable mention notice from either the media or coaches, including: linebackers Jonathan Casillas and Mark Zalewski, defensive tackle Jason Chapman, defensive backs Joe Stellmacher and Allen Langford, quarterback John Stocco, punter Ken DeBauche, center Marcus Coleman and offensive tackle Eric Vanden Heuvel.